The Salvation Army URL has changed to

Find out more
You are here: HomeAbout UsLeadership & Structure › Australian Leadership

Australian leadership

Commissioners Robert and Janine Donaldson

Commissioners Robert and Janine Donaldson

On 1 December 2018, The Salvation Army became a unified movement in Australia, after having operated as two independent territories for 97 years. The objectives to bring the two former territories together were to have an aligned vision, united voice, greater impact, increased innovation, stronger partnerships and better stewardship for the communities that we serve across Australia.

The Australia Territory Board

The Board is responsible for:

  • providing governance oversight to the Territory in accordance with Australian law, governance principles and all requirements under International Headquarters Order and Regulations
  • strategically positioning the Territory so that it has a sustainable, major influence on Australian society
  • providing advice and assistance to the Trustees

The Board consists of 11 members - six Salvation Army officers, including Commissioner Robert Donaldson as Chair, and five independent members, who all share a personal faith in Jesus Christ. The members are:

  • Commissioner Robert Donaldson (Chair)
  • Colonel Geanette Seymour (Alternate Chair)
  • Mr Richard Grellman, AM (Independent Lead)
  • Commissioner Janine Donaldson
  • Colonel Winsome Merrett
  • Captain Richard Parker
  • Lieutenant Lydia Hong
  • Mr Greg Couttas
  • Mr Adrian Appo, OAM
  • Ms Desley Hargreaves, PSM
  • Ms Felicity Natoli

The Board is supported by five Committees, Cabinet and the Executive Mission Council:


Audit and Risk Committee

The purpose of this committee is to ensure the integrity of the financial statements, risk management framework and the system of internal controls, such that these align with The Salvation Army values and meet its legislative and regulatory obligations.

Nominations Committee

The purpose of this committee is to fairly and objectively identify and nominate suitably qualified candidates for appointment to the Board.

Professional Standards Committee

The purpose of this committee is to define and promote within The Salvation Army, a world’s best practice response to allegations of abuse and ensure that The Salvation Army is actively enhancing child safety within the Australian community.

Quality and Safety Committee

The purpose of this committee is to define and promote a culture of continuous quality improvement and consumer safety that aligns with Salvation Army values and meets legislative and regulatory obligations.

Pastoral Committee

The purpose of this committee is to improve the depth and breadth of the spiritual life of The Salvation Army in Australia; and to guide the movement so that it operates in accordance with its mission to Share the love of Jesus by caring for people, creating faith pathways, building healthy communities and working for justice.

Executive Mission Council

The Executive Mission Council is responsible for managing the implementation and delivery of Board-approved strategies, compliance with Board-approved policies and providing advice and assistance to the Trustees to enable The Salvation Army to achieve its mission.

The Executive Mission Council is comprised:

Position Name
Chief Secretary (Chair) Colonel Winsome Merrett
Assistant Chief Secretary Colonel Kelvin Merrett
Secretary for Mission Lt-Colonel Lyn Edge
Secretary for Business Administration Lt-Colonel Stuart Evans
Secretary for Personnel Lt-Colonel Chris Reid
Secretary for Communications Lt-Colonel Neil Venables
Assistant to the Chief Secretary - Governance Portfolio Major Darren Elkington
Chief Financial Officer Maria DiGregorio
Chief Human Resources Officer Penny Lovett 
Group Executive Mission Enterprises Jeff Davey
Divisional Commanders Lt-Colonel Bruce Stevens (VIC)
Lt-Colonel Miriam Gluyas (NSW/ACT)
Lt-Colonel David Godkin (QLD)
Major Bradley Potter (WA)
Captain Lance Jeffrey (SA/NT)
Captain Kim Haworth (TAS)


  • The Salvation Army Red Shield logo
  • Salvos Stores logo
  • Employment Plus logo
  • Aged Care Plus logo
  • Salvos Legal logo

The Salvation Army acknowledges the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia and recognises their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to them and their cultures; and to elders both past and present.

13 SALVOS (13 72 58)

Gifts of $2 or more to the social work of The Salvation Army in Australia are tax deductible.Details and ABNs

Hope where it's needed most